HOPE TO HEAL

Hope for those suffering from Lyme Disease

Good News

Liver with Balsamic Vinegar Sauce

I cooked up extra beef liver the other day and I found a really good recipe in Nourishing Traditions.  If you don’t have a copy of NT, I pretty much improvised as usual.  Here’s how I did it.  I sliced my leftover beef liver into bite size pieces.  I heated a cast iron skillet with lard and cooked one medium onion until it started to soften.  Then I added the liver that had been floured and cooked previously.  Heat for a short time, just to warm.  Then I added a dash or two of balsamic vinegar, 1/4 C beef stock and I sprinkled some arrowroot on top. Stir it all together and allow to thicken slightly.  I added some leftover carrots from last nights pot roast.  The carrots really gave it a nice flavor.

I’m still not a BIG fan of liver.  It’s something I’m tolerating right now because I have to.

I did find some really great info in Nourishing Traditions this AM.

“According to Professor Francisco Villaroel of Bolivia, pinapple is a powerful remedy for ….anemia.”

Better than that….Apricots are especially rich in iron.  And get this….have I got your attention????

‘Nobel-prize winner G. S. Whipple praised the apricot as “equal to liver in hemoglobin regeneration.”‘

WOW!!!!! That is amazingly good news!

Most of us with Lyme Disease have at least one if not multiple co-infections.  If you have Bartonella, be aware that it infects your red blood cells, and more spefically, your bone marrow.  Red Blood cells are made in your bone marrow.  So don’t wait, until you are severely anemic, start now to enrich your diet with iron rich foods.  Always choose a variety of foods to get a broad spectrum of nutrients.

Photo Credit: link to original artist

October 8, 2008 - Posted by | Diet, Infections | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

