HOPE TO HEAL

Hope for those suffering from Lyme Disease

Pineapple Chutney

Nourishing Traditions Pineapple Chutney

I have an appointment to see my doc today on the eve of my 50th birthday. I hope he has some good b-day news for me on my new labs. Since I got the first report that my labs weren’t looking so hot, I began focusing on what I knew.

I’m severely anemic, my liver enzymes are high and my bilirubin is high. All of this points to Bartonella. I’ll see what he thinks. But since this is what I know, I decided to focus more of my diet on these lab results. It can’t hurt.

As I’ve told you, according to G. S. Whipple a Nobel-prize winner, apricots are as “equal to liver in hemoglobin regeneration.” My apricot butter has been a really great treat on my sourdough toast or in my yogurt. But, I like to spread my nutrient dense foods around. And I enjoy adding as many new lacto-fermented foods as I can.

However, I’m still eating liver. In fact this AM, I juiced some grassfed raw liver in my carrot juice. Dr. Max Gerson is known to have used this remedy to heal cancer patients. I of course would never do this unless I knew the source of my liver and knew it had been frozen for at least 14 days to kill any parasites. At least that’s what is recommended. Funny thing is, I didn’t taste it at all. I’m not sure how much I got, and if my juicer does the best job of getting all the goodness out of it, but I figured, what the heck! I’ve got nothing to lose and everything to gain!!!! 😀

According to Sally Fallon, pineapple is high in fiber and contains carotenoids, B-complex vitamins and vitamin C. Professor Francisco Villaroel of Bolivia, claims pineapple to be a powerful remedy for chest ailments, jaundice, arteriosclerosis, anemia and cerebral problems, such as neurasthenia, melancholia, and loss of memory.

It’s also rich in manganese, which is necessary for strong bones and a strong nervous system. The manganese in pineapple is a particularly absorbent source.

To me, it sounded like another good choice for what ales me. If nothing else, I found another amazingly delish recipe from Nourishing Traditions. I was a bit leary, since cilantro isn’t necessarily my favorite. I thought, oh yum, pineapple salsa! But, it’s not at all like salsa. It’s very very good. Just a hint of salty and sour and just a hint of the sweet pineapple remaining.

Here’s what’s in it: pineapple, cilantro, ginger, lime juice, salt, whey and water. If you don’t have a copy of NT, you really need one. I believe that our food can be our medicine. And if it’s prepared in the proper ways, then it’s more nutrient dense and absorbable to our delicate systems.

October 15, 2008 - Posted by | Diet, Infections | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

