HOPE TO HEAL

Hope for those suffering from Lyme Disease

The Storms of Life

I’ve really been struggling to get my head around this new diagnosis. I guess it’s more dire than any I’ve really faced before. If I don’t stop the destruction of my red blood cells, then…. But we plan to stop it. I drank my raw liver and carrot juice this AM. Hey, it won’t kill me, but this crappy disease will! It didn’t taste too bad. It wasn’t great, and I could definitely taste the liver, but it was downable.

As I face this storm in my life, I’ll continue to praise the One who can deliver me. It’s times like this when you think your faith is shaken that you find if it’s built on the ROCK. Mine is. I’m really glad it’s not built upon the ability of a man to use what little knowledge he has to heal me.

The funny thing is, it was this disease in 1971, that brought me to faith in Christ. No one knew then what was wrong with me. We went from doctor to doctor with no diagnosis. Blood test after blood test. I was undiagnosable. That was the first year that Lyme Disease was discovered in Lyme, Connecticut.

It was then that God sent a pastor from a small country church to visit me. He knew I was sick and he knew that I might die. I didn’t grow up hearing of Jesus or of His death on the cross. I didn’t know about the free gift of salvation. I didn’t know that I was a sinner and forgiveness was free of my asking. I didn’t know that by asking God to forgive me and become Lord and Saviour of my life that I would never be the same again.

I prayed that night in March of 1972.

My life has never been the same.

It’s not a perfect life. As you can see, I face the same challenges of life, just like anyone else. It isn’t a free ride. It’s a choice I made to give my life and my all to the only ONE who gave me His life and His all.

Because Hope To Heal is based upon much more than a recipe or a protocol, I’m really glad that I can face this challenge with friends and family who love and care for me. Because I know I’m not alone. And I hope you find in this place, that you are not alone.

The verse that brought me comfort this AM, was from Isaiah 40:11

“He tends his flock like a shepherd:
He gathers the lambs in his arms
and carries them close to his heart;
he gently leads those that have young.”

October 16, 2008 - Posted by | Faith | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

