HOPE TO HEAL

Hope for those suffering from Lyme Disease

My Winter Remedies

I woke up this morning with that awful feeling that I’m getting sick. I forgot to take my handful of Vit C before I went to bed last night. That’s my number one weapon of attack. I usually take 5-10 grams, that’s 5,000-10,000 mg right before bed. Since it’s flu season and a lot of people are walking around with it, I also have been taking 20-35 drops of Echinasea tincture. I make my own tincture and I like it with Goldenseal.

dscn1127

I also have been making Elderberry Syrup for the past couple months whenever I feel it. I drizzle Elderberry Syrup in my yogurt or I’ll take some in a little bit of water several times a day and that helps tremendously. I was blessed to find an Elderberry tree on our property this summer and froze 4 gallons of berries. It does have a short shelf life in the frig, so I only make small batches at a time.

I also keep homemade chicken soup in the freezer all winter so that I can pull it out when needed. It’s not called Jewish Penicillin for nothin. I always make a pot of good bone broth first by cooking a chicken in a stock pot for no less than a day and then on the second day adding veggies. If you have feet and heads throw them in! The more gelatin the better!

dscn1077

Also this morning since I’m really feeling it, I drank some juice from my fermented pickles and downed some whey that was dripping from some kefir cheese that I was making. I drank the pickle juice because my sauerkraut doesn’t have a lot of juice. Remember a few years ago, the word was going around that the FDA was suggesting sauerkraut for the bird flu. Well, it’s fermented juice that you’re after. It’s loaded with Vit C, it inhibits the proliferation of bacteria, and acts as a antibiotic.

I also use a hand sanitizer in the winter when I’m out in public. This is the only time I recommend it.

Keepeth Thy Hands Clean!

Pay attention to your body and you’ll know when to increase your pro-active attack plan. Don’t wait for it to get a foot hold, because once it does then your battle is much harder to fight. And remember that for some of us we have a compromised immune system and you should work very hard at avoiding it like the plague.

And stay away from sugar! It weakens the immune system. In my opinion I think that’s why we have so much sickness during the winter months. Not only is our supply of Vit D  greatly reduced but we are consuming tons of sugar during the holiday months when the flu is at it’s peak! And don’t forget your Cod Liver Oil which is packed with Vit A and Vit D, it’s like sunshine in a bottle. Oh go ahead….just pinch your nose! Really the CLO today does not taste bad and is easy to swallow!

For some of you this may be your first Christmas holiday without sweets. Press on. Check out my post on Christmas Cheer, where I give a couple great recipe ideas that won’t cause you to regret your actions. I also added a few more on my other blog.

Best of health to you this winter!

Photo Credit linked to Flickr.com

December 17, 2008 - Posted by | Infections, Lifestyle | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a comment